About the campaign
Most food companies play fair. When they use meat products you need only look at the label to see what you are eating. For alcohol, however, the rules are different.
Strongbow, Carling, John Smiths, Jacques, and Bulmer’s cider are all frequently drunk by vegetarians, unaware that they contain animal-derived products such a gelatine or Isinglass (fish gut gelatine). Whether or not companies decide to use these products is their choice but consumers, vegetarian or not, should be empowered by the label when queuing at the till.
Tell the Department of Environment, Food, and Rural Affairs to end the deceit and change the laws on alcohol labelling so that we know what products are used in the refining process for beer, wine, and cider.
To check if your favourite alcohol is veggie-friendly, visit Veggie Wines.
Thank you for your support,